86-95 Trucks & 4Runners (Build-Up Section) Post your build-ups here

1993 4Runner - a rusty rebuild

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2021, 11:20 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1993 4Runner - a rusty rebuild

Hey everyone! I picked up my first Toyota about a month ago. It’s a 93 4Runner, 4x4 with the 5 speed manual. 3.slow of course. Only had 158k miles on it, by far the lowest mileage example I could find in my area for this vintage. Sadly, the truck doesn’t look like it’s got that low of mileage - originally an east coast vehicle, it’s being eaten alive by decades of untreated rust. I’m a professional sheet metal welder, so I’m confident I can fix that. But before then, there’s some issues to work out, which is mainly what I’m going to focus on in this thread.

Let’s start with some pictures!

I took these last month the day I bought it. So that’s our starting point - you can see it’s quite dirty and rusty! But she ran solidly. Engine sounds good, the timing belt had been done 10k miles before I bought it, transmission feels awesome and shifts smoothly. It’s got good bones as they say. I’ve been dailying it for the last month, and so far so good! No issues have come up.

I’ll keep adding more to this post to detail the work I’ve done/problems I’ve found so far, til I’m caught up to now.
Old 12-27-2021, 11:26 AM

What’s the goal?

For this “build,” I’m actually not planning on making a rock crawler or off road machine. This is my daily, so I want to keep it stock. Reliability and on-road drivability are my main concerns here. Definitely not as exciting or cool as many of the other builds here, but this poor truck has been neglected for so long, nearly every part is going to be touched in this “restoration” - if you can call it that! This will never be a showroom quality truck, but we’ll try to make it run good and look nice regardless.