Motorcycles Motorcycles of any kind including ATVs

Your First Motorcycle?

Old 10-12-2004, 05:52 PM
Contributing Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Your First Motorcycle?

I've been thinking about getting a sportbike and am looking for advice from those with more experience than I, so I thought I'd post and see who's out there.

A little background. The only bikes I ever rode were dirt bikes and that was a long time ago...like when I was a kid. I'm 38 now. I was talking this over with a friend and I mentioned a starter bike, something like a Ninja 250. He strongly advised against that...not enough power, get screwed on the resale, etc. He did suggest that I buy HIS bike, a GSXR 600, I think it's a 2000 model. I was a little surprised at first, since I have no real experience on sportbikes, but the more I thought about it, the more it made sense. It's a good handling bike, good power, reliable, plenty of aftermarket support, etc.

Whatever I buy, I'm going to take classes before I even get one...there is a group here in Austin (may be other places too) called TRAK, I think, that provides instruction on their bikes, etc. I'll also take it to the track occasionally, too, so the GSXR is a good choice for that.

So, what do you guys think? If you have experience in this, what do you suggest?

I'm all ears...
Old 10-12-2004, 06:25 PM

A GSXR 600 is probably not the ideal starter bike but if its a good deal.
Old 10-12-2004, 06:43 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
My first bike was a CBR929RR, by most people's standards not an ideal starter bike. I had ridden my dad's suzuki intruder about 1500 miles before i swung a leg over the 929. it really depends on your comfort and logic level. I rode with my 2 best friends, one had a Honda RC51 (1000 v-twin ala Nicky Haden), the other had a CBR600F4. The kid on the 600 was the only one to ever lay his down and he did it 3 times. The moral of the story, ride smart and within your abilities.
Old 10-12-2004, 07:37 PM
Contributing Member