First Aid / General Medicine Discussion pertaining to outdoor medicine, wilderness first aid kits, ect.

A Paramedics First Aid Kit

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2009, 11:56 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
A Paramedics First Aid Kit

A few people have asked me for advice on what to carry as far as medical kits for off-road, camping and general use. You have to build your kit to your own specific needs but I think mine does a pretty good job of covering all the bases. Obviously you should have appropriate food/water and clothing for the trip so those are not included.

I have been doing fire and EMS since I was in high school and have worked/work in wilderness, rural and urban settings. Aside from being a paramedic I have ACLS, ITLS, PALS and BLS certs. I also used to teach first aid and survival courses too if any of that matters to you.

Here is my kit,

Airway Kit:
2 Magil forceps, 1 small, 1 large
1 pocket mask (high quality)
1 CPR mask, (low quality)
1 bulb syringe
1 manual suction device with catheter
1 Asherman chest seal
1 oral airway set
1 nasal airway set
Surgical lube packets
3 16 GA. IV catheters
1 pair sterile gloves

Tools:
Misc. sterile surgical blades
Misc. splinter removal needles
1 disposable body staple kit with remover (Adventure Medical)
1 Wound closure kit (Adventure Medical)
1 pair trauma sheers
1 pair bandage scissors
1 hemostat clamp
Misc. safety pins and small needles
1 BP cuff
1stethascope with spare parts kit
1 LED penlight
Misc. pens, sharpie marker
1 Paper pad
1 “Vital Stats” notebook
1 pediatric trauma/meds guide
1 magnifying glass
Misc. q-tips
1 small mirror
1 window punch
2 pair tweezers
1 N95 mask
1 thermometer with extra covers
1 space blanket
1 emergency poncho
Misc. tongue depressors

Medications/Ointments:
1 hydrogen peroxide gel
1 activated charcoal
2 instant glucose tubes
1 Vaseline lip balm
1 bottle Motrin
1 bottle Imodium
1 bottle ipecac syrup
1 bottle sterile eye wash
1 tube of Rolaids
1 Primatene mist inhaler