Camping, Expedition, & Overlanding Gear Discussion pertaining to outfitting yourself with gear for the great outdoors

winter camping ideas, generator for heat?

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2004, 11:04 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
winter camping ideas, generator for heat?

i have am a total novice, so humor me if this is just a stupid idea... i would like to be able to camp over night at the mountain this winter. i would prefer not to freeze in my sleep. is it possible to run a generator or something to power heat safely? i don't think a power inverter with a space heater would be very safe!! you guys are so creative - any ideas?
Old 12-12-2004, 11:32 AM

I've been thinking about getting one too. Here is what I've found.

http://www.zodi.com/products.html

I already have a Coleman BlackCat heater, but it only really heats if your directly infront of it and I wouldn't use it while I'm sleeping.

http://www.coleman.com/coleman/Colem...ategoryID=3000

I like the Zodi because it sits outside the tent, but I don't like that you need to hook up a battery. With the coleman, I only use it while getting ready for bed or waking.
Old 12-12-2004, 11:58 AM
Contributing Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Been there, done that, without the portable heater though.

1 20 degree down bag
1 closed cell foam pad
1 thermarest pad
Polypro long underwear
Food
Stove
Pack
1 Malamute

I have a 2nd gen and sleeping in back I have to curl up.
If the rear seat cushions are taken out, there is enough room to stretch out (I'm 6').

I'll give you a hint though...A good 4 season tent is warmer than a car.
Old 12-12-2004, 12:15 PM

i am a very small girl, and no malamute, just a fiesty beagle - being in the truck is for safety... i was hoping i could rig something electrically to heat the truck, a generator or something... but it might just not be possible...
Old 12-12-2004, 02:27 PM
Contributing Member

Ok very small girl. First things first.