Diesel Swaps Diesel engines

OM617 swap into 1988 4runner

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-2013, 02:51 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
OM617 swap into 1988 4runner

Hi everyone,
I've been searching for the most fuel efficient off-road SUV available for a long time. I finally decided that the OM617 and the 4runner are the best option because of the availability of parts. So after a year of thinking it over, the swap is now underway.

I'm not a mechanic. I just want the right vehicle for my needs. So please don't flame me for using incorrect terminology. Perhaps more importantly, don't flame me for hiring a machine shop to do the swap for me. I'm going to start posting some pictures, but since the machine shop is about a 7 hour drive roundtrip, I don't have the chance to take pictures of each step of the process. So I'll do my best. First of all, here is the 4runner. I bought it for $2750, and thought I got a good deal until 5 days later when I found out the head gasket was blown. So that's when I knew I had to decide whether to put more money into the unpopular 3.0 V6 or find something else.

I added up the cost of getting all the individual parts for the OM617 (engine, turbo, oil cooler, glow plugs, radiator, power steering pump, etc), and then I found a nice little donor car for $1500. I bought the car so I can sell it for parts when I'm finished and reclaim some of my money. So I'll include a picture of the donor car too.
Attached Thumbnails OM617 swap into 1988 4runner-4runner.jpg   OM617 swap into 1988 4runner-m1.jpg  

Last edited by Circle; 12-13-2013 at 03:49 PM.
Old 12-13-2013, 03:00 PM

Here are some pics of the engine as it's being rebuilt by the machine shop. It's getting new piston rings, bearings, gaskets, valve seals, timing chain, tensioner and a lot of other things the shop suggested. I also had the injectors rebuilt.
Attached Thumbnails OM617 swap into 1988 4runner-block1.jpg   OM617 swap into 1988 4runner-block2.jpg  
Old 12-13-2013, 03:29 PM