Solid Axle Swaps, All Years Anything SAS related

86 shortbed SAS questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2015, 05:04 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
86 shortbed SAS questions

Im lookin to do get rid of my IFS in the next couple months and am wondering what kit would be the best option (ie. Trailgear, Allpro)
? I'm fairly new to yota's and solid axle swaps so if anyone has recommendations and tips that'd be awesome! Thanks!
Old 01-20-2015, 08:34 PM

Received 48 Likes on 31 Posts
Trail gear seems okay. Some people have bad luck with them though. If it were me I'd go Allpro
Old 01-22-2015, 08:14 PM

Received 91 Likes on 71 Posts
I put a TG kit on two trucks and have been running them HARD for a few years. No problems. I have "heard" of TG being junk but I have yet to have anything from them fail.

You can usually get their kit on sale and shipping is free. A kit is the way to go for the first swap in my opinion. Piecing one together could be cheaper but may take a while.

I have Marlin, All-Pro, Sky, AA and probably other brands. I just got what I liked at the best price when I needed it. Sometimes prices for what you want suck or it is out of stock.

You will get opinions on who sucks and who doesn't. I don't baby my stuff and so far no failures. Abuse will break even the best parts.

Some of the failures I have seen were because people did a bad job on the swap or beat on them bad. I have had good results with TG springs but, I run bump stops so I don't invert them. A common cause of early failure.

Compare kits and see what you get for the money. Some are more complete than others and some have shipping.
Old 01-23-2015, 08:43 AM
Contributing Member

Received 181 Likes on 126 Posts
The TG kit is good and we'll put together. If I was doing it again I would get a frenched hangar. I hate how tall the front is now.
Old 01-23-2015, 04:36 PM

Thanks for all the suggestions, I guess I'll keep doing my research and find whichever one works for me best!