Off Road Trip Planning, Expeditions, Trips, & Events Discussion pertaining to scheduling trail runs and outings

Good 4Wheel paths/Trails in AZ

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2006, 07:44 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Good 4Wheel paths/Trails in AZ

New to post, and my ride is a 1990 4Runner with 3.0 V6 5-Speed 4WD, and is pretty much stock performance wise, but i have 4 Hella lights on top, and a bar on front with 2 cheap lights.
I was wondering if anyone here rode in the Phoenix area, and knew of some good places to run a completly stock 4Runner, and I'm not really experienced with offroading. I know how to, but just never do, and wanting to start.

Let me know where you think would be a good start for me. I'll try to get pics of my ride up tomorrow, the one on my avatar is not what it looks like now.

thx
Old 01-04-2006, 05:03 AM

There are quite a few people from the PHX area on here.

For info on trails, locations and descriptions I would pick up Charles Wells book on 4wheeling in Arizona.

Some good trails to start with would be Coke Ovens and Box Canyon which are down south towards Florence. Crown King, Reno Pass/El Oso are great trails as well for stock vehicles. Table Mesa road off I-17 has some good trails for stock vehicles both on the east and west side of the highway, the best being I-17 east to Seven Springs, but if you take Table Mesa west to Tip Top Mine across the Agua Fria there are some good trails as well. Then if you want alittle more of a challenge give Sunflower Mine a shot. If you google these trails many times you can find directions.
Old 01-04-2006, 11:07 AM

Great recommendations!