General Electrical & Lighting Related Topics Ask here for electrical, wiring, and lighting info for your rig that could apply to all years
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

My aux fusebox drains battery in 3 hours. How do I stop it?

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2007, 10:47 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My aux fusebox drains battery in 3 hours. How do I stop it?

Don't laugh, I'm new to wiring electronics and I did use the search.

Well, I put my e-locker in and was tired of running wires to the battery so I put in a 6 slot 30amp fusebox and ran 10 gauge wire to it from the battery. All I have on it so far is my e-locker switch and my CB, but my battery dies every couple of hours. I thought it was the battery at first and got a new cheap but decent battery, but it was dead two days later and now my truck needs to be jumped every couple of hours again.

I'm almost sure the fusebox is drawing enough power to kill it. I took out the fuses on my fusebox hoping that it will hold the charge it has for now. I don't think it's the alternator because I can still drive the 25 miles to work without a problem and I just left it idling in my driveway for half an our with no problem.

I don't know jack about relays or other products like them, but the little I do know makes me think that when my ignition is off, a relay in the proper place will keep my battery from draining. Is this correct?

If that is right, would I need to put a relay on the power cable from the battery to aux fusebox? Or would they go on each power wire to the CB and e-locker?

Do I have any other good options to keep my draw from the fusebox at a minimum?

Thanks guys.
Old 10-18-2007, 10:52 AM
Contributing Member

Received 29 Likes on 26 Posts