General Vehicle Related Topics (Non Year Related) If topic doesn't apply to Toyotas whatsoever, it should be in Off Topic

Need advice: White smoke and "knocking"

Search this Thread

Old 12-25-2005, 06:56 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need advice: White smoke and "knocking"

It started yesterday when I wnet to deliver some X-mas presents. White smoke out of the exhaust and knocking under the hood. My first thought is a bad valve, hopeully just sticky, or possibly a lifter? I'm not really a mechanic and I don't know the inner workings of this engine so does anyone have a clue?

BTW I have no loss of power, the oil is not creamy, and it does the knocking on and off. The somke is pretty much constant, just worse at certain times. '97 4Runner with the 3.4L and around 167,000 miles.

Please help me! :cry:
Old 12-25-2005, 07:02 PM

um, oil changes done on a regular basis? You've got major engine problems per what you've described here. I'd stop driving it before your send a rod through the block...
Old 12-25-2005, 07:10 PM
Contributing Member

The white smoke has to be coolant so maybe a head gasket or cracked head.
Old 12-25-2005, 07:12 PM

Yes on the oil changes. And I haven't drove it since It started all of this. Just a quick drive around the block to try to figure out exactly what was going on.
Old 12-25-2005, 07:13 PM

And the knocking noise is weird, it's not constant and almost sounds like a bolt ratteling around in the block. It only lasts like 1 second at the most at a time.
Old 12-25-2005, 07:30 PM
Banned

Received 19 Likes on 9 Posts
I'm no mechanic, but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express once and you got a problem. Seek professional help before engine go boom.

Keep us updated.

Old 12-25-2005, 07:36 PM

Anyone know a good mechanic in Utah? Would the stealership totally take me for a ride on this? I don't even know where to begin!!
Old 12-25-2005, 07:52 PM

Originally Posted by Mr Tibbs