Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

Whats the best way to upgdrade my DD to make it more offroad capable

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2011, 03:45 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Whats the best way to upgdrade my DD to make it more offroad capable

Hello all i am new to Yotatech and i just wanted to say i love it. This has been the greatest site for my truck i love this site and i visit it atleast twice everyday. Now that, that is done lets get to the thread. I have a 1989 toyota pickup V6 Xtra-Cab, currently it is running 31x10.5x15 Goodyear Wrangler Authority the only mod that has been done is a K&N air system. Everything else on the truck is stock its my DD and currently I am not a very skilled mech. but over the years i have picked up a few skills but they are very limited. I have a 4inch rough country lift kit to put on it but thats gonna be a little while i have to rip it off my old truck. but i basicly want to know what i can do to give her an overall tune up and squeeze out a little more power. I know eventually i want to but on the Rough country lift and then add a 3inch Body lift and a set of shackles. then i want to throw on a set of 35x12.5x15 mud terains and add a locker. i know to run tires this big i will have to regear but i dont know what to go with. most of my miles are going to be highway but i will use it as a weekend wheeler so it has to be plenty of offroad capable. And with the locker i dont know what to go with i know im going to try and stick with a lunchbox locker because i really dont have the skills or money for a selectable. Also i have read that with tires that big some lockers wond stand up. I know this stuff has been covered a million and one times but not really for my particular situation. Also any other help would be greatly admired. Thanks to all and i will try to do a buildup section and give props to all that deserve
Old 02-02-2011, 04:03 PM