Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

My First 22RE, What should I do?

Search this Thread

Old 07-02-2015, 04:46 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My First 22RE, What should I do?

Hey guys, total newbie here to these older Toyota's. I had an 08 Tundra 5.7, and an 01 4Runner before this, but i couldn't resist this truck.

What should I replace and or get looked at if I don't know the specific background of the engine? It has a clean Carfax, but that means nothing when it comes to the engine. It has about 150k on it, and does seem to be leaking some oil from the backside of the engine from the top.

Thanks for the help!
Old 07-02-2015, 09:22 PM

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Welcome to the site. That's a good looking truck.
Let me throw out some common things that will possibly prevent you from posting things that have already been covered time and time again.

First things first
Before any work is done make sure there isn't currently a problem with the head gasket or changing the engine oil and filter along with any work on the cooling system will be for nothing and a waste of money.

Do a Block leak test to see if the head gasket already has any problems!
Use a Block leak tester, Combustion leak tester, Combustion leak Detector, whatever you want to call it:
The Combustion Leak Test Kit will test your coolant for the presence of exhaust gases. This proves if there is a breach between your combustion chamber and coolant passages or not.

Examples of block leak testers:
Amazon.com: UVIEW 560000 Combustion Leak Tester: Automotive Amazon.com: UVIEW 560000 Combustion Leak Tester: Automotive

Amazon.com: Lisle 75500 Combustion Leak Detector: Automotive Amazon.com: Lisle 75500 Combustion Leak Detector: Automotive

Next you'll want to follow that up with a compression test to check for a tired engine with rings that don't seal well or leaking valve problems.