Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

More flex out of IFS on the cheep?

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2012, 11:13 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
More flex out of IFS on the cheep?

I'm still learning about how IFS works and what little tweaks can be made since I'm building my rig on the cheap and don't have any grand SAS plans, etc... Torsion bar crank-check-nice cheap 1.5" of lift. I have manual hubs and the truck doesn't get driven a lot so no worries about the CVs there. From what I've been reading the next step is the low profile bumpstops-found a nice tutorial on that, but what is less clear is how much more stress the extra droop can put on the CVs. I found this post about Suzuki shocks for the front for 1.5-2" of lift, so I was thinking of running those AND removing the sway bars. Will the combination of these four things:

1.5" T-bar crank
Low profile bumpstops upper and lower
Longer travel front shocks (Suzuki OE)
Sway bar delete

Make my IFS that much better on the trail or will I just be eating CVs?
Old 03-21-2012, 11:26 AM
Contributing Member

I removed my sway bar off the front of my truck and I tore a boot on the next trip with a stock truck, no lift.
Old 03-21-2012, 12:36 PM

Received 23 Likes on 20 Posts
Where's AxleIke when we need him?

Oh well, I guess I'll see what I can do.

1. Cranking the torsion bars will give you more ground clearance/lift, but it will flex less.

2. Low profile bumpstops won't give you any lift or have any affect on flex. You will gain a small amount of suspension travel. But not likely enough to cause too much stress on the CVs. Running them with BJ spacers is another story.

3. Longer travel shocks wouldn't gain you anything. Stock length shocks are long enough to accomodate for the additional ~¾"-1" of extension travel.

4. I'm all about the sway bar delete. That's the only thing you've mentioned that's going to give you more flex out of IFS on the cheap.
Old 03-21-2012, 03:45 PM