Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

Maintenance Tool Kit for a Beginner

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2017, 09:09 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Maintenance Tool Kit for a Beginner

Hello,

I just bought my 1999 4Runner one week ago. It is my first Toyota. It's been very well maintained, has 279K and is in fantastic condition. Oh it's also a manual transmission, I am not sure if that is pertinent to answer my question. Since purchasing and driving in the past week, I really want to learn how to do maintenance and minor repairs myself. I have no experience, but have ordered a Chilton manual. I was thinking of getting a wrench set, socket set, socket extenders and spark plug socket to start my tool kit. I was wondering if anyone has any more input for my beginner tool kit?

Thanks in Advance!

Rachel
Old 03-17-2017, 10:27 AM

Received 184 Likes on 132 Posts
Rachel - the truck in your avatar looks great. And heck yes, get that tool collection started! Almost every bolt on these trucks is metric, there are a few, like the seatbelt bolts I think that are not. 10mm, 12mm, 14mm are the most common and cover most things, 17mm and 19mm are good for the larger suspension stuff. So yeah, a good socket set and some box wrenches will get you pretty far. A big breaker bar, like 24" is handy for things like stubborn oil drain plugs. A torque wrench is good to have. I mean you could go crazy and get everything under the sun. My brother bought one of those like $99 craftsman mechanics 100 or 200 piece sets and it has most of what he needs. No matter how many tools you have, you'll always find more that you need!
Old 03-17-2017, 11:02 AM