Instrument Cluster - YotaTech Forums



Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

Instrument Cluster

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-10-2015, 05:16 PM   #1
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: texas
Posts: 6
Instrument Cluster

I know there has been a post on this, But , I just bought a 1988 pickup 4x4 and I have been having problems getting the temp and fuel gauge to work right, My model # on truck is VZN66L-MDCEA which I am sure its a deluxe model , well it has a tech and im sure its a SR5 model instrument cluster. how can I tell what it should have, when you turn on key ( not starting ) the temp needle will rise to the 1\4 mark and stay there ( even if I unplug the wire to the sending unit and the fuel gauge will rise and not go down after key is switched off, but temp will when key is off. I think someone put an SR5 gauges in it. So how do I tell what really belongs in it, last owner did have an aftermarket temp gauge under dash.
gary4runner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 03:47 PM   #2
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: texas
Posts: 6
Well I finely found a new temp gauge for my truck and it worked great for about 2 weeks, now its doing the same thing again. I start it cold and a min or two later it going half way on the gauge. any idea's on how to fix ?
gary4runner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 06:43 PM   #3
Registered User
 
old87yota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Oregon
Posts: 393
I would make sure all of the wires going from the sender to the gauge are intact and all of the connections are clean and tight. If the wires check out fine, then you can try this fix to a seemingly very common problem:


https://www.yotatech.com/forums/f116...ge-fix-271152/


old87yota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2015, 12:53 AM   #4
Super Moderator
Staff
iTrader: (1)
 
Terrys87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Anderson Missouri
Posts: 11,575
There is a Toyota site that you can put your VIN and see what is on your truck but don't remember the site. Is your truck a base model truck? If very few options I would say it came with no SR5 gauge.

Temp gauge is not the best on these trucks.

The fuel gauge is most likely the sending unit in the tank. The wiper on the resistance in the tank tends to rub the hair like wire in two.


Last edited by Terrys87; 09-24-2015 at 01:01 AM.
Terrys87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3.0 rev limiter need help plz Jdgarrison 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 1 10-01-2015 05:22 PM
Newb looking to do an ENTIRE drivetrain conversion on 2gen 4Runner TheBFA Solid Axle Swaps, All Years 6 10-01-2015 12:18 AM
87 climate control light 87SR5justin 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 1 09-15-2015 06:48 PM
(89?) 4runner gauge cluster to 87 pickup imhousing 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2 09-10-2015 02:04 PM
SR5 Cluster Rawwdz 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 0 09-06-2015 09:03 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:40 AM.


2017 InternetBrands, Inc.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: