Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

I'm new to 4WD - can I get some pointers?

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2009, 11:27 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I'm new to 4WD - can I get some pointers?

I'm considering buying a used 1999 4runner, SR5, automatic transmission, 4WD. I've never driven a 4WD before. Can I get some pointers about shifting between modes, when to do it, etc - the basics I need to make the most of the 4WD without trashing the car? Also, I thought there would be an option to lock the differential when driving on sand/snow, but apparently that's only on the 1999 limited 4wd?

Thanks!

Last edited by pendrag; 04-07-2009 at 11:29 AM.
Old 04-07-2009, 02:34 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Yes, the 99-00 Limiteds and 01+ 4Runners all have a center differential. Yours doesn't. No big deal, though.

As far as 4WD pointers, make sure never to engage 4WD on dry pavement. On loose gravel, dirt, snow, etc., it's not a problem, but never on dry pavement. Also, you can shift on the fly, and depending on which transfer case lever you have (push-button or j-shift), the max shift on the fly points will differ, but generally speaking try to do it below 40MPH.
Old 04-07-2009, 06:33 PM

and p.s. don't wait til your stuck to put it in. (note to self) lol.
Old 04-07-2009, 08:46 PM

save up until you can afford to do what you want done right the first time..nothing worse than doing something cheap and paying for it in the end.. you want a lift, figure out what tires you want to run and how big. save up get the better grade lift kit. want to do an engine upgrade? do it right. save until you can get quality parts. listen to enough folk on this site. you will learn that doing it quick or cheaply will affect you in the end. and if you dont know what to do ASK!! someone will always know the answer.
Old 04-08-2009, 11:55 AM

haha, wolfrunner, you totally missed the question...