Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

86 4Runner 22Re timing chain? bent valves?

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-2013, 10:55 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
86 4Runner 22Re timing chain? bent valves?

I thought I graduated to the non-newbie forum but that's not to be. I picked up this 4Runner for $100. We did a bunch of work on it detail in other threads to bring it up and running (wiring, fuel pump, new clutch, etc..)

I drove it for town off and on for a few months until it started acting funny. Losing power, sputters, hard to start. Then one day it just won't start. Spent about 2-3 months working our way through the FSM. Everything checked out.

We checked the compression and everything looked good there. I gave up and took it into my mechanic. He took the valve cover off and told me the timing chain was stretched out and maybe had some bent valves.

Some more months pass. I tried to sell it as is but no takers and I don't want to scape it so I am going to try and change out the timing chain.
Old 06-12-2013, 10:59 AM

Overview

No coolant or water mixing in here.
Old 06-12-2013, 11:01 AM

The guides are still intact but I can deflect the chain with my finger about 1/2 inch which I guess it bad.
Old 06-12-2013, 11:05 AM

I am not a mechanic and this is my first truck I've ever worked on. I have never done engine work before.

Here is what I know:
We get compression within the ranges on all 4 spark plug holes.
The gaps are within range on the head.
But when it ran the engine ticked, maybe valves were out of wack?

I saw some recommendations for using EPN in Portaland for the steel guides, oil and water pump.

Some questions:

Is my timing chain actually wonky? Or is there a problem somewhere else?

It's recommended that I replace the oil and water pump since everything will be in pieces?

Is there any way to tell if the head is all screwed up and the valves? Or did I have to put a new chain on and see what happens?