Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

22r extreme rich condition

Search this Thread

Old 09-02-2012, 10:30 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
22r extreme rich condition

please bear with me, altough its my 4-1/2 toyota, its my first 22r, so i'm a newb with these carbs. The vehicle in question is an 86 22r 4x4 with only 129,xxx miles. It was a farm truck (and only $250!) so it was neglected to a certain extent. Ever since the day i first started her it idled rough, and then it seemed smoothness of the engine at higher revs seemed to get worse as it warmed up.

did alittle tune up, plugs, wires, cap, rotor, valve lash and timing, and everything is fine. It idles rough, but runs great now above idle. Only problem is it smokes like crazy and stinks like raw fuel (wich it has done since day one). Obviously, its running way too rich. After i did the tune up i figured the only last thing would be the idle mixture screw. I popped off the cap, and messed with the screw, started by turning it in, wich seemed to make it worse. Turning it out made it worse as well.

My first thought after that didnt help it would be the EGR (causing rough idle) OR the original rich mixture fouled out the O2 sensor. So either of them can be bad...

idles like junk, but still runs great above idle. Still smokes and stinks too. Now it has more of a whitish/blue color too it, wich makes me wonder if the valve seals or bad, but with 129k miles, and since it didnt do that before makes me wonder.

Sound like a carb problem? or maybe a vacuum leak? faulty O2, EGR...maybe an internal problem, like valve seals?
Old 09-02-2012, 10:56 PM

Received 8 Likes on 5 Posts
How fresh is the carb?. I'd start there, maybe a complete re-build is in order for a starting point. Keep us informed.
Old 09-02-2012, 10:57 PM