Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

1989 Toyota Pickup POOR Fuel Economy!

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2011, 01:24 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1989 Toyota Pickup POOR Fuel Economy!

Hey guys,

First time poster here. My name is Alex and I'm from Ontario, Canada. Nice to meet you all in advance.. I'm a university student and currently commuting to school, about 120km daily in my 89 Yota pickup. It's a 5spd, 22re, 4x4. I know these are not EXACTLY ideal commuters but i just love the feeling of being in my truck and its never done me to bad for fuel economy until fairly recently and of course it never gives me problems! its a toyota. Not to mention Canada in the winter pretty well demands 4x4.. My commute is about 70% straight, rural highway and 25% combination of rural highway and 60km/h zones through villages and such, followed by about 5km through the outskirts of the city to school. I average about 90km/h for most the drive apart from the slow zones and I'm just squeezing 15MPG out of her! and this is when i'm driving in the most efficient way that i know how. She's had new plugs and wires and an oil change recently.. i know there are a number of things you can try to improve fuel economy and i wan't to know where to start as I need to prioritize in terms of finances! has anyone experienced this? has anyone find any, one part replacement to be particularly effective in this regard.??

Thanks!!

Alex
Old 10-18-2011, 11:09 PM

Received 99 Likes on 86 Posts
Smile

Tire pressure and the size of tires play a big roll

air filter you don`t say cap and rotor any thing to keep it running the best. Sometimes we forget all the idle time in the winter or colder months.

Also I tend to leave my hubs in all winter that takes away from mileage

Have they switched to the winter blend gas up there yet that seems to kill mileage .

How much extra junk do you cart around in your truck I know I am very guilty of this .