03+ 4Runner/GX470, & 05+ Tacomas 4th gen 4Runners & 5th gen trucks

Help! 2005 4Runner Hydraulic Strut System

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2005, 10:06 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help! 2005 4Runner Hydraulic Strut System

I am a newbie when it comes to lifting vehicles. So I took my 2004 4Runner to some local experts to install my newly purchased lift kit from Nitrous Enterprises. With disregard to advice from NE, they removed the hydraulic strut line for the XREAS system. This is, however, only after talking with a local Toyota service who said that they can bleed the system after removing the strut line. My truck now still sits at the local service place after about 4 days of going back and forth on how to proceed with bleeding the system.

Has anyone gone through this kind of situation?
Old 03-21-2005, 10:25 AM
lee
Contributing Member

dude, your first error was buying an NE lift kit. return it NOW.

this site will inform you on why you need to get rid of that kit ASAP:

http://www.buyerbeware.ws/
Old 03-21-2005, 11:14 AM
Banned

In regards to what to do - get the Toyota mechanic to talk to the shop guy who is working on your truck, or get a tow truck to take your truck from the current shop to a Toyota dealership so they can work on it directly from there.
Old 03-21-2005, 11:48 AM
Contributing Member

Firstly I would not recommend you use the NE kit, see website lee has pointed too.

Second, did the XREAS system leak any fluid when they disconnected it?

The XREAS system has specific disconnect points, where each shock can be disconnected. ALso before you can disconnect any shock all 4 wheels must be hanging with no wieght on it. That said, nobody I'm aware of has disconnected the XREAS shocks with good results.

SO if they disconnected the shocks and lost no fluid, you might be lucky and they can just put it together. Then have it checked out by a dealer.