v6 3.0 camry mass air meter - YotaTech Forums

Go Back  YotaTech Forums > Toyota SUV & Truck Tech > 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners
Reload this Page >

v6 3.0 camry mass air meter

Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

v6 3.0 camry mass air meter

Reply

Old 06-13-2008, 11:17 PM
  #1  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
dirtpup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: manassas va
Posts: 48
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lightbulb v6 3.0 camry mass air meter

do you guys think about it. my dad wrecked my moms 91 camry back in 06 and its been sitting in my back yard sence then so tuesday i moved it to mow the grass and i decided to take tha mass air off of it and check a few things out first thing i noticed right away was the diamater of the prot was about 1/2 in bigger all the way around and the plugs matched up to our truck 3.0s so i took it to work and cleaned it off and put it on my truck and started up runs great no more heasitation when giving full throttel. drove it around run way better. do you all think it will mess with anything ive been driving on it for about 3 days now and i filled up on gas today and drove 50 miles with a trialor today and pulled fine i did not come off the full mark till i got back home beforwhen i did that it would be way below the half mark.
dirtpup is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2008, 11:28 PM
  #2  
Registered User
 
abecedarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Temecula Valley, CA
Posts: 12,723
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
for reference, it is called an air-flow meter not mass air meter. though an air-flow meter and mass-air-flow accomplish the same thing, they operate in very different ways.

if it's running, it's prolly fine. I know there are some differences between afm's from different years and models but I don't have the list in front of me. there were some that could interchange, some that couldn't and some that would work if you re-organized the pins in the wiring plug.
abecedarian is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 12:15 AM
  #3  
Contributing Member
 
taikowaza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Dakotas
Posts: 781
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
subscribed. I want to know if the camry AFM will be an improvement over the stocker.
did you do anything special to install it? can you post some pics? that would be really helpful. thanks for posting dirtpup, this is a very interesting experiment, I'm following closely.
taikowaza is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 01:04 AM
  #4  
Registered User
 
JCM4x89pu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Simi Valley, CA
Posts: 121
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
hmmm... interesting... i'm gonna look more into this... although.. if it was a 91 camry v6, it would be a 2.5L ..so if it's the 3.0L for sure then it must be a later model, because they started putting the 3.0L v6 in the camry in 92. do you know for sure that it is the 3.0L v6?
JCM4x89pu is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 01:13 AM
  #5  
Registered User
 
JCM4x89pu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Simi Valley, CA
Posts: 121
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
oh... and did it bolt right into the stock air box?
JCM4x89pu is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 10:51 AM
  #6  
Contributing Member
 
bigtrucknwheels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Where it always works if you work it, in Sunny Selinsgrove, PA
Posts: 2,336
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'm currently talking to some guys in the Camry thread over on ToyotaNation, gathering information for my 3VZFE swap, and they told me their AFM is one of the largest on any older Toyota. In fact, they say that a Supra AFM wouldn't even be beneficial because it is so effective.
bigtrucknwheels is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 10:54 AM
  #7  
Registered User
 
TOY89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 273
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'm also interested in finding out if this works.
TOY89 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 04:02 PM
  #8  
Registered User
 
just a 22re's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: milwaukee, WI baby muddin in the streets!!
Posts: 2,801
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
you think this will work in a 22re???? if so ill be doing this as well!!!!
just a 22re is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 08:05 PM
  #9  
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: savannah and tampa, fl.
Posts: 172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
yes! more information on this please.
SLOWBOOST is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 07:17 PM
  #10  
Registered User
 
Bumpin' Yota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 3,689
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
subscribed
Bumpin' Yota is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 08:14 PM
  #11  
CJM
Registered User
 
CJM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 4,940
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
You have a 3.0 or 22RE? I wonder if you could use it on both or just the one. Subscribed...
CJM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 06:24 PM
  #12  
Registered User
 
just a 22re's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: milwaukee, WI baby muddin in the streets!!
Posts: 2,801
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i think we should have some cash test guys try this out im going to try and find a junk yard with a 92 cam in it and get the 3.0L V6 air flow out of it and plug it into mine and pipe it and see if she starts and how it drives ill be doing this on the weekend of the 27th 8th and 9th thats when im going to milwaukee cause out here in the sticks all you see is chevys and other crap in the junk yards no toyotas anywhere!!!
just a 22re is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 07:35 PM
  #13  
Registered User
 
wardriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: 26.3 road miles from the AT (VA)
Posts: 347
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Humm...wonder if this would work in a rig a few years newer? Definitely going to have to watch this thread.

More info on the Camry please! ( And pictures too! )
wardriver is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 04:12 AM
  #14  
Registered User
 
gt0987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Anything easy that adds power would be great! Please post pics if you can.
gt0987 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 01:47 PM
  #15  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
dirtpup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: manassas va
Posts: 48
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
hey guys sorry for not responding as soon but i work 2 jobs now worm on forklifts and crains during the day then at night at the toyota garage so i took it out this weekend and it worked great expessaly on the highway i usally get about 250 to a tank i was doing about 60-90mph on 95 going down and about 30-60 beacouse a bad rain storm coming back but iwas sitting at 220 on half a tank thats the greatest thing for this truck sitting on 33s i wont know how it does around town till i fill up this weekend but ill try and get some pics this week when i find my camra. it bolts right up to the stock air box but the out let pipe is a little bigger i got rid of my air box and made a coldair intake system and it works great. i used a cupling from the autoparts store and puc pipe and pasted it all togather works like a charm.
dirtpup is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 01:53 PM
  #16  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
dirtpup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: manassas va
Posts: 48
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i deffentely know its there compared to stock one it does not lag like the stock one does it takes off a lot faster and when you are like in 3 gear and shift into forth on the stock one it would bogg down the new one it keeps on going on down the road. and start hauling a$$ down the road compared to stock.
dirtpup is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 02:32 PM
  #17  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
dirtpup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: manassas va
Posts: 48
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts









dirtpup is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 04:58 AM
  #18  
Registered User
 
wardriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: 26.3 road miles from the AT (VA)
Posts: 347
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Humm...could the added throttle response and mid range torque be partially due to the ISR mod?
wardriver is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 12:01 PM
  #19  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
dirtpup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: manassas va
Posts: 48
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i had the irs modd when i had the stock air flow meter on the truck it would not run like it does now. witht the new air flow meter
dirtpup is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 01:10 PM
  #20  
BAZ
Registered User
 
BAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Killwaukee, Wiscompton.
Posts: 465
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
You have a 22r-e?
BAZ is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: v6 3.0 camry mass air meter


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: