UCA against frame? - YotaTech Forums

86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

UCA against frame?

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-07-2017, 09:48 AM   #1

UCA against frame?

Hey guys. So I'm trying to understand what's going on with my upper control arm on the passenger side. As it sits, the arm is actually resting on the top of the frame with no distance between. When looking at the driver side, there is a decent gap between the frame and arm. And btw, this is my first time digging into suspension components other than the shocks about 5 years ago.

This is the 3rd time in under a year that I have to replace my axle on that side because the inner boot keeps getting torn up. I noticed that the angles of the arms are a little more steep than the drivers side and so my first thought was maybe ball joints and because that tire angles out at the bottom more than the top. At the time of replacing those, I replaced the axle also. Got it back together and it still didn't change anything. 2 weeks go by and I have some time to check things out again and the damn boot is ripped already! 2weeks?! So I start doing more research find some stuff on adjusting the LCA. Passenger side was way different from driver so I was able to get them to match and it did help a little with how things were sitting but not enough. Soon I'll be replacing all of the tie rods, stabilizer, etc but for now I need to focus on this so I can keep an axle longer.

So now I'm trying to figure out why the arm is the way it is and I'm pretty sure the angle is whats causing me to go through axles. What would cause that arm to be contacting the frame even with the weight of the truck on it? I have never messed with any of these parts until now so I'm still trying to learn what affects what. (I just rebuilt a new motor for this thing last winter and that was a breeze compared to this, lol)