86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Trying to diagnose engine noise...22re

Search this Thread

Old 01-14-2015, 09:41 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hi Yotatech!
I recently brought my 86 4R 22re 5spd into a mechanic friend of mine, and we both agreed that the engine was too noisy. We put a stethoscope to it and still couldnt figure out what the problem was. We suspect that the problem is either valves that need adjustment or a loose timing chain.

From what I have read on this forum, it seems that pulling the valve cover and checking the clearances is the next logical step. While at the same time looking down at the chain and checking for slack. I admittedly have very little knowledge of how the engine works, this is my first project vehicle and I am learning each part as I come to it. So this post is basically to show you guys my plans, and see if you would do it differently. Im sorry if these are stupid questions but I want to do this correctly.

Little background on the car. I bought the car a few months back with 200,000 on the body, and ~15,000/3yr on the motor rebuild. I will post the receipts from the rebuild at the end of this post. Can someone tell me what was done during the rebuild? I am having trouble deciphering all the different spec values.