Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Throttle position sensor installation/setup

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2006, 10:33 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Throttle position sensor installation/setup

I'm a fairly good mechanic. I have a 94' 4Runner V6 that I need to replace the throttle position sensor.

Is there a procedure for setting this up? I have a multimeter.
Old 02-02-2006, 11:05 AM

Check out this one. Should have all you need.

http://www.4crawler.com/4x4/CheapTricks/TPS/index.shtml
Old 02-03-2006, 12:08 PM

Hello All,

First: Are you sure you need to replace the TPS, rather than adjust it? What are your symptoms?
Second: If you follow the adjustment procedure listed in the previous reply, there is a critical step missing (for the 3VZ-E motor). It took me a while to puzzle it out, and then I was able to confirm my guess at the following page, which is part of a whole Toy Service manual (invaluable resource: bookmark it):

http://personal.utulsa.edu/~nathan-b...93throttle.pdf

This describes in detail the adjustment procedure including the crucial missing step, which is applying vacuum to the "Throttle Opener". if you don't have a vacuum pump (I don't) you can manually disengage the opener with a wire-tie carefully positioned. Also, it is WAY EASIER to do this procedure with the throttle body off the engine. It's pretty easy to take the throttle body off, and you don't have to drain the radiator at all. (you may lose a few ounces of coolant, but that's all.) Tip: unbolt the throttle body before removing the coolant hoses, and pull it out and up a few inches; this makes it WAY easier to access the pinch-clamps for the coolant hoses, especially the one that's underneath.

I'm happy to elaborate further on my recent TPS adjustment and other related issues.

Crick
Old 02-03-2006, 12:38 PM

So I was wondering, how does applying vacuum to the hose affect the adjustment?
Old 02-03-2006, 12:53 PM