Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Tech Write up - Rear spring install - 2nd Gen 4Runner

Old 12-16-2006, 08:36 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Tech Write up - Rear spring install - 2nd Gen 4Runner

Disclaimer - I am not a professional, just a college punk who likes to tinker with his truck. Although I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night, please proceed with caution.

Rear coil spring removal - Second Gen Toyota 4Runner 4WD

This install requires...

Parts - Eibach Pro kit PN# 8228420 1.5? Lift Springs

Tools - Floor jack, jack stands, pry bar, metric socket set (3/8? & ??), 3/8? ratchet, ?? ratchet, and a decent sized hammer.

I would recommend measuring the truck before performing this install, I used the top of the wheel arch it was 34" before install, the sag was strong on this truck. If you have a spare tire, remove it.

I used a hoist so in my situation I lifted the entire truck, obviously everyone doesn?t have this luxury. For the driveway install lift the rear of the truck and place the frame on jack stands allowing the axle to move freely. Raise the axle to relive the shocks and springs with the floor jack. You can now begin work.

Remove the rear wheels, place them under the truck by the rear doors, this is a little extra security. Next you must remove the lower shock mount bolts; they are a 15mm (I think). Then pry the shocks off the mount point. You can leave the shocks attached to the upper mount for this install.

Remove the sway bar end link bolts. It is a 12mm on top and a 14mm wrench holds the link.

Remove the six bolts 12mm that hold the rear brake hard line and soft line in place. This will allow the axle to drop low enough without having to disconnect the rear soft line. This helps save time since you will not have to bleed the rear brakes when done.