86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Rust Repair Thread, Lots of pictures

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2007, 10:32 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Rust Repair Thread, Lots of pictures

Hi. I have a 95' 4-runner with some major cancer issues. I took her around to a few body shops for some quotes on the rust. I took it to this small little garage and got a 600 dollar estimate. Then I took to the best body shop in Erie, PA (Bonnell's) which gave me a 5,000 dollar estimate lol. Then I took it to another body shop with a good reputation in his work and honesty (Dick Deutsch Auto Body) and was quoted at 1300 with no guarentees that there wouldnt be some sort of bubbling in the next year or two. I want to do this project myself. I have access to all the tools I would need to do it. I have no experience with a project of this sort before. I have access to a wielder and a bunch of air tools to help me sand and grind. I think I can do this, it just might not look very pretty when I'm finished and my parents are anal about having a POS looking car sitting in our driveway. So here's the photos of the damage. I'm looking for some feedback on things I should go buy for the project. Such as how much bondo, rust inhibitors?, what kind of primer is best? What kind of place to i go to get the paint I need to match the rest of the car? Thanks for the quick feedback I know I'll get from you yotatech'ers in advance!

-Kory

-PS I took photos of my rusty bumper and trailer hitch but I'm not really too concerned about those right now, just the rotting body, also once I get what I need to get started here, I plan on updating with pictures after each step I get done

Here's the link to all the photos

http://s182.photobucket.com/albums/x...ota%20project/

Last edited by kpaxfaq; 06-18-2007 at 10:35 AM.
Old 06-18-2007, 10:57 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post