Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

rough starting 22re

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2012, 08:25 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
rough starting 22re

first off, i'm new to the forum and i've been searching for the problem my truck is having but can't seem to find an exact match.

every once in a while( very 2 or 3 weeks) my truck won't turnover. it just clicks once under the passenger side dash and thats it. all my gauges show full power and battery checks fine. and i've tried hitting the starter while someone cranks it and that works usually. but when it does finally start it runs really rough and blows blue smoke for a few seconds then levels off fine and runs normally. anyone have any ideas? is the starter getting stuck out after it starts?

any help is appreciated. i'm a newbie so please excuse.
Old 10-05-2012, 09:40 AM

forgot to mention its a 1991 extended cab 5 speed 4x4 with 22re motor
Old 10-05-2012, 07:35 PM

Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts
I would check all the usual suspects for starting issues. Batt/ batt voltage , starter, all other ign components. As far as running rough and burning oil , check afm,, tps, aav, etc. oil burning on startup could be valve guide seals, could be rings if burning all the time. Have you done a compression test ?
Old 10-12-2012, 11:54 AM

I also had lots of black smoke with my '87 pickup and finally rebuilt the carb, worked great!
Old 10-12-2012, 08:43 PM

Originally Posted by midtnyota
first off, i'm new to the forum and i've been searching for the problem my truck is having but can't seem to find an exact match.