86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Rebuilding a 22RE - Some Questions.

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2009, 01:56 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Rebuilding a 22RE - Some Questions.

Yesterday I bought a used 22RE that I plan on rebuilding. I've been searching the forums, but still have some questions.

Background on this engine is that it has 170k miles on it, and the previous owner said it developed a rod knock shortly before being pulled, but otherwise ran strong.

I am fairly new to working on my own vehicles, but mechanically apt, patient, and willing/able to take my time on this. I don't need a new engine right away, but I would like to gain some experience/skill and have a solid engine for my truck when I'm done.

1. Machine shop work - Mainly what I'd like to know is, what do I need to have them do, and what can I do myself? What's required, what's optional, and what's really not worth it?

If the bores are out of spec, I need them re-bored, and if the crankshaft isn't right, it needs to have the journals ground, yes? Can I check this? Seems like having the guy I'd be paying to do the work tell me if I really need it done is a conflict of interest.

2. Pistons/Bores - I've read that the lower end on a 22RE is pretty tough and that it's unusual that one would need to be re-bored. Assuming mine doesn't, do I just hone and re-ring?

If it does need to be re-bored, when am I buying pistons? I've read that you buy pistons *after* the machine shop is done re-boring, so you know how much oversize you need. I've also read that you should have the pistons in hand before boring is done, so that a really good fit can be achieved. Both make sense, but are contradictory...

3. Likewise, if the crankshaft is fine, can I just use normal sized bearings? Does the machine shop need to machine the bearings to get the fit just right?