Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

"Quality" dealership work?

Old 03-13-2013, 04:58 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
"Quality" dealership work?

I bought a money pit...but love the working to make it mine factor.

The Beaver Toyota dealership in Santa Fe, NM reported that they replaced the water pump on this truck 10k miles ago. I noticed some leaking of coolant (green) after purchasing this and upon further investigation found this on the the waterpump...
"Quality" dealership work?-imag1434.jpg

"Quality" dealership work?-imag1436.jpg

"Quality" dealership work?-imag1437.jpg

I'm not an expert, but I'm assuming I'm going to have to redo the water pump job they claim to have done yeah?

Last edited by Notraps; 03-13-2013 at 05:37 AM.
Old 03-13-2013, 05:42 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Whats the time frame? Warranty is for 1 year, 12k miles.
You just bought the truck? Maybe the previous owner blew it up and put in a junkyard engine 5k miles ago.
Old 03-13-2013, 06:12 AM

Vins match so I dont' think that an engine swap is the case. The dealership said that they replaced the water pump, found the head gasket was leaking and the po declined repairs. I'm assuming that was over a year ago as they told me it's out of warranty.

I have a hard time believing that the dealership would break the oil cooler... and try to cover their tracks by telling the po the head gasket is leaking, but I don't see any head gasket symptoms, and I've seen some unbelievable swindling before. Funny thing being that the timing belt looks like it's practically new, but they have no record of replacing the belt.

New Mexico is a whole different beast when it comes to quality IMO. I'm taking it in stride given this truck will eventually be up to my standard of quality.
Old 03-13-2013, 06:33 AM

Originally Posted by j2the-e
Whats the time frame? Warranty is for 1 year, 12k miles.