OIl Pressure Gauge? - YotaTech Forums



86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

OIl Pressure Gauge?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-05-2009, 01:53 PM   #1
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 586
OIl Pressure Gauge?

My truck only has an idiot light. I'm considering options for adding a gauge.

How accurate are the SR5 senders/gauges compared to aftermarket half sweeps? And how do they both compare to mechanical gauges?
flyingbrass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 02:41 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Kiroshu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 2,747
Well they say mechanical is the best due to the fact you can see the acctual PSI in oil pressure and reilability.... its really up to you... it may cost alot and be a pain to repair the stock gauge but toyota put their oil guage on there from the factory and its just as good. If the gauge goes out i'd repair it.... OEM toyota is the recommended way to go by me I've had lots of trucks with the original oil guages with 200-300-400k miles and it worked fine.....
Kiroshu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 03:18 PM   #3
Registered User
 
Matt90V6SR5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 652
Its my understanding that the 3.0 holds a sort of low to mid oil pressure.Mine holds at about middle of gauge on the highway with 233,000 miles,at idle it reads lower.
Matt90V6SR5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 03:21 PM   #4
Contributing Member
 
iamsuperbleeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lake City, Fl
Posts: 12,246
I use to have an aftermarket guage pod installed with a volt meter, water temp, and oil pressure gauge, installed on the pillar...

I ended up ditching it for an SR5 gauge cluster swap, which had all the same gauges in it, it's just MUCH more clean, and now I don't hit my head on a gauge pod when I get out of the truck


BEFORE:










AFTER:








it's just so much more clean, and everything's accurate Toyota OEM stuff, so no problems
iamsuperbleeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 08:35 PM   #5
Registered User
 
Matt90V6SR5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 652
Thats the same exact setup on my SR5 4Runner.Where does your oil pressure guage read idling in neutral?
Matt90V6SR5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 08:47 PM   #6
Contributing Member
 
iamsuperbleeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lake City, Fl
Posts: 12,246
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt90V6SR5 View Post
Thats the same exact setup on my SR5 4Runner.Where does your oil pressure guage read idling in neutral?
on the OEM cluster?

depends on the temp of the motor

when cold at first startup, it's over the half way. once warmed up, it's set at about 1/4 the way

but this is also on a freshly rebuilt 22re with less than 4k miles on it
iamsuperbleeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 12:58 AM   #7
Registered User
 
Matt90V6SR5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 652
Hmmm...my old motor does same thing,when its cold reads slightly past half,when warmed up good it reads between 1/4 and 1/2.Guess thats the norm.
Matt90V6SR5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 02:42 AM   #8
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 586
Oil is "thicker" when cold, so you get higher pressure at startup.

Here is a lengthy argument for using oils that are lightest when cold: http://www.ferrarichat.com/forum/faq...=haas_articles

I don't know enough to have an opinion on that guy's take.
flyingbrass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 12:27 PM   #9
Contributing Member
 
Jay351's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: maple ridge, British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 9,055
my stock sr5 oil pressure gauge sits at 0 most of the time.... No accurate.

And I like being able to see a number, not "normal".
Jay351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 11:28 PM   #10
Registered User
 
Matt90V6SR5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 652
Yeah,a number of about 35 or 40 huh
Matt90V6SR5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 12:45 AM   #11
Registered User
 
annoyingrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,067
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay351 View Post
my stock sr5 oil pressure gauge sits at 0 most of the time.... No accurate.

And I like being able to see a number, not "normal".
I agree with you 100% there. Not only are the stock gauges vague, they're very slow to respond to changes. I much prefer to be able to look down and say, "oh hey, my oil pressure is at 22psi", rather than "on hey, my oil pressure is around that one mark, and if I rev it, it sort of creeps up to that other mark".
annoyingrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 07:10 AM   #12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Northern Colorado :-(
Posts: 1,758
A little off topic, but where's the oil sending unit for the idiot light? I think mine is bad or disconnected.

Also, is this the same unit you have to replace to install a pressure gauge?
DupermanDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 08:35 PM   #13
Contributing Member
 
Jay351's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: maple ridge, British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 9,055
Quote:
Originally Posted by annoyingrob View Post
I agree with you 100% there. Not only are the stock gauges vague, they're very slow to respond to changes. I much prefer to be able to look down and say, "oh hey, my oil pressure is at 22psi", rather than "on hey, my oil pressure is around that one mark, and if I rev it, it sort of creeps up to that other mark".

Haha, thats so true!

I feel the same way about the temp gauge, because we all know our stock temp gauges are just
Jay351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 09:08 PM   #14
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 586
Quote:
Originally Posted by DupermanDave View Post
A little off topic, but where's the oil sending unit for the idiot light? I think mine is bad or disconnected.

Also, is this the same unit you have to replace to install a pressure gauge?
It's a few inches below the oil filter. Yep, that's where you put the sending unit for a gauge.
flyingbrass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 05:51 PM   #15
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 586
Looks like an SR5 cluster swap won't provide what I want. I'm leaning toward a mechanical gauge with good line (not nylon). Any suggestions for cheap sources of braided line?
flyingbrass is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
87 22r rebuild issue bigjstang 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 18 07-21-2017 10:31 AM
20R Break in- Really High Oil Pressure calderp Engine Swaps 2 08-16-2016 05:15 PM
HiGH oil pressure breaking in 20R calderp Pre 84 Trucks 8 07-27-2015 09:58 AM
91 22RE Should my Oil Pressure Warning light come on when disconnected? Odin 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 8 07-15-2015 09:28 PM
1988 pickup oil pressure gauge wiring HELP! 88yodabasket 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 15 07-13-2015 01:32 PM


Tags
1986, 4runner, 86, aftermarket, gauge, gauges, idling, light, oil, pickup, pillar, pressure, read, sr5, toyota, trucks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:47 AM.


2017 InternetBrands, Inc.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: