Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

New to the "Old School" 4Runner

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-2015, 08:55 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New to the "Old School" 4Runner

Hey 4Runner buddies!

I'm new to the world of 4Runners, and I'm doing it in style. I have a 93 4Runner, V6, 4WD, 5 speed, 295k miles. Thing is a beast, and is pretty well taken care of. New sheet metal, new exhaust, A/C works and all the electrics are good inside.

I am having a problem, and it seems strange to me. When I start the 4Runner, give it full revs, it runs and sounds fine and doesn't give me any headaches, no CEL either. However, when I go to drive it will drive fine for about 15 seconds, throw a CEL and then it starts to chug. It feels like it wants to go, and it does, but it seems like it's choking out, kind of like putting your hand over a carb.

Thought the ignition system was crapping out, replaced all the plugs with NGK's, did the cap and rotor, and all new wires as well. Idled better, but still having the issue. The previous owner said it was probably the VAFM, but research I've seen doesn't seem to show that it would cause this, right?

The real issue is that I'm not use to Pre-OBDII computers, so can I check the code without it being shown on start up? Sorry for the dumb questions, like I said, I'm new to this! I've included some bonus pics to show her off!

New to the "Old School" 4Runner-axezjzu.jpg
New to the "Old School" 4Runner-y4rqy6z.jpg
New to the "Old School" 4Runner-wcwdkfy.jpg
Old 09-12-2015, 09:45 AM

Received 822 Likes on 649 Posts
Welcome to Yotatech.

You only need key-on to check the codes.
http://personal.utulsa.edu/~nathan-b...85diagnosi.pdf
As you can see, you'll need special service tool SST 09843–18020 (but we all use one of these: http://www.staples.com/Staples-reg-J...product_525923)