Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

New to the forum, need some advice on a lift kit for a 93 2WD Pickup.

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2015, 07:09 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New to the forum, need some advice on a lift kit for a 93 2WD Pickup.

Hey everyone, new to the forum. I have a stock 1993 toyota 2wd pickup that I wanted to give a 1.5-2" lift to so I can fit some 235/75R15 tires.

I was looking at this kit...

They also have this kit which is the same thing but comes with shock extenders

Is this a good kit? Do I need the shock extenders or no? It would save me $40 to get the kit without them.

Second question is will the stock shocks work with this? Or do I need to buy new shocks? I may end up replacing the shocks either way because it has a REALLY rough ride. I was looking at these KYB Gas-a-justs, but maybe if I need longer shocks these won't work? I've never done a lift before so I'm just making sure I buy the right stuff.

Thanks in advance for your help!
Old 08-30-2015, 05:01 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
2WD's are nearly impossible to lift in the front since the torsion bars are on the lower control arms instead of the upper ones. Your best bet is a mild torsion bar crank and maybe some BJ spacers.
Old 08-30-2015, 10:54 PM

Received 105 Likes on 86 Posts
Originally Posted by mct75
2WD's are nearly impossible to lift in the front since the torsion bars are on the lower control arms instead of the upper ones. Your best bet is a mild torsion bar crank and maybe some BJ spacers.

2wds are not that hard to lift. The amount of lift achieved is just heavily dictated by how much you want to spend.