Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Need advice/opinions on 22RE condition

Old 10-02-2007, 06:16 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need advice/opinions on 22RE condition

I picked up an 86 4runner this weekend with a seized motor. I was told it was run dry (oil) .

There is a hole in the block below the exhaust manifold. So a new short block is in order.

I pulled the valve cover last night, and was pleasantly surprised by what I found

Now I am no expert, in fact I never done any motor work before.

What I would like is some opinions regarding the condition of the head. Does it look like I can just slap it on a short block and call it good?

Thanks in advance.
Old 10-02-2007, 06:54 AM

Not neccessarily; any time you plan on doing a head swap you should at least have the head pressure tested for any cracks.

Judging by first glance the overall condition looks good but that doesn't mean a thing. If it was run dry then there was probably some seizure that occurred as well.

Take it apart, may as well pull the motor because if there is a hole in the block, it's a lost cause. Pull the head and take to a local shop that does that sort of thing and have it pressure tested.

See where that gets you and go from there. But no, there is NO WAY to tell if the head is ok from just looking at it.
Old 10-02-2007, 07:11 AM

Thank you.

I'm ordering a short block today locally here. I gotta pick up a hoist tonight and start pulling it.

I'll bring the head into a machine shop to have it inspected.

Originally Posted by kcrunner
Not neccessarily; any time you plan on doing a head swap you should at least have the head pressure tested for any cracks.

Judging by first glance the overall condition looks good but that doesn't mean a thing. If it was run dry then there was probably some seizure that occurred as well.