Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Lower radiator hose leaking, please help.

Old 12-01-2013, 07:04 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lower radiator hose leaking, please help.

Well this is my first post here, im replacing my door panels and noticed quite a bit of fluid on the garage floor. It looks to be my lower radiator hose is loose, im wondering is I should remove/replace it, or if it just needs to be wiggled and tightened. AND, if it does need to be removed, what is the process.

Please forgive any and all stupid things i may have written, im new to truck work and this site, Please and Thankyou!

Lower radiator hose leaking, please help.-img_1038.jpg
Lower radiator hose leaking, please help.-img_1037.jpg
Lower radiator hose leaking, please help.-img_1034.jpg

And any suggestions on best way to then clean it all up down there afterwards? Pressure washer?
Old 12-01-2013, 07:18 PM
Fossilized
Staff

Received 448 Likes on 293 Posts
Looks almost like your upper hose is leaking too. On my 81 there is also a third hose, shorter, on the lower d/s.
you can loosen the hose clamps and try wiggling them closer but probably looking at replacement.
Clean it by wiping it with a rag..
Old 12-01-2013, 09:00 PM

Originally Posted by dropzone
Looks almost like your upper hose is leaking too. On my 81 there is also a third hose, shorter, on the lower d/s.
you can loosen the hose clamps and try wiggling them closer but probably looking at replacement.
Clean it by wiping it with a rag..
Thanks man i appreciate it! Okay ill pull em off and replace them all, will i need an oil pan to catch all the fluid or does it stay inside the radiator mostly during removal?
Old 12-01-2013, 09:21 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
If they look bad (ends are cracked, bulges, anything that doesn't look normal) you should go ahead and replace them.