Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Lose Ground wire question?

Old 09-20-2005, 05:08 PM
  #1  
Banned
Thread Starter
 
NathanBERG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Washington State
Posts: 373
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Lose Ground wire question?

Okay, I have a 90 4runner with the 3.0
I have been getting the code 25 and 26 off and on for a long time now. I have looked into everything and still the darn thing comes back.

Last night I was looking around under the hood and I found that the bolt that holds the Ground wire to the driver side head was very lose. I am wondering if there is any chance this could have been the problem? Or am I just thinking wishfully here? I am not looking for false hope, now! Give it to me straight !
NathanBERG is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 05:34 PM
  #2  
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10,036
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
nathan,

i beleive a few guys did a ground wire replacement many months ago. try searching "ground wire mod" or "ground wire replacement"

bob
Bob_98SR5 is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 05:54 PM
  #3  
Banned
Thread Starter
 
NathanBERG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Washington State
Posts: 373
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Ya, I have looked at those threads. But I could not find a answer to my question. I just thought if somebody knows the ground wire I am talking about they could give me an idea wether it could be the Reason I keep getting the codes.
NathanBERG is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 08:12 PM
  #4  
Contributing Member
 
dibble9012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,748
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Now I do not know what those codes mean, but heres my opinion. The loose ground wire may be resetting the codes, and you might have the problem the codes are telling you. Thats how I reset my codes, by removing the negative cable. Have you had any other problems as far as stuff not working electronically?
dibble9012 is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 08:16 PM
  #5  
Registered User
 
ASU4runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Blowing Rock, NC
Posts: 536
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by dibble9012
Now I do not know what those codes mean, but heres my opinion. The loose ground wire may be resetting the codes, and you might have the problem the codes are telling you. Thats how I reset my codes, by removing the negative cable. Have you had any other problems as far as stuff not working electronically?

my loose ground wire caused all kinds of electrical and gauge malfunctions. It's something that you should fix soon. just tighten the bolt on the head and make sure there is a bolt to the firewall. Good luck!!
ASU4runner is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
djpg2000
Tires & Wheels
9
02-04-2019 06:43 AM
Doug4320
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners
19
03-24-2018 10:11 PM
MO transplant
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners
8
05-11-2016 03:01 PM
88yodabasket
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners
15
07-13-2015 01:32 PM
Rkellerman
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners
2
07-12-2015 08:42 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Lose Ground wire question?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: