Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

locker and hubs question

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-2006, 05:18 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
locker and hubs question

This might be a stupid question. I have a 87 runner, with auto hubs. When in I put it in 4-hi and start to spin, I end up only spinning one rear wheel, conviently the one with the least traction. It still does it when I put it in 4-lo. Is there something not working right, or do I just need a set of lockers, I'm new to the off-road world, and I'm not real sure what lockers, uh..lock? Also I'm hoping upgrade to manual hubs for christmas.

any help would be greatly appreciated.
Old 12-22-2006, 05:48 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Welcome to the world of the open differential. The wheel with the least traction will always spin.
You need a locker or a limited slip differential.. There are lots of options available for the toyota and they make a big difference.
Old 12-22-2006, 06:14 AM

Is an LSD more livable for everyday driving? I've heard that lockers are kinda harsh when turning on paved surfaces.

Rob
Old 12-22-2006, 06:14 AM

I agree with the Locker comment, also change out those auto hubs! GARBAGE! LOL! if you can find a set of toyota manual ones at the junk yard or on e-bay you'll be set. there is a tech forum on doing the swap listed on here or pirate off road.
and welcome to "Oh what a feelin" Land! LOL!

Merry Holidays!
Rick
Old 12-22-2006, 06:32 AM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
The LSD will be friendlier for DD.

The detroit locker is not too bad for street use and is a very durable unit. But you do know it's there when you turn a sharp corner. (a light klunk.) But that's the only time you'll really notice it on the street. Just be careful on ice with these or any other locking diff.
Old 12-22-2006, 08:07 AM

Received 24 Likes on 17 Posts
Big Red - I will have a set of manual hubs here soon, all cleaned up and ready to go. PM me if you're interested.