86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

"Kuh-chunk" noise in driveline

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-2006, 06:18 PM

Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
"Kuh-chunk" noise in driveline

Since I've got the '86 (4runner) laid up for a clutch job, I figure I'd do some investigating into a noise I've been hearing in the driveline for a few months. It's a noise like someone hitting the driveshaft (for example) with a hammer when I first start out and the driveline engages. It seems to be coming from the rear. I checked all the u-joints, manually tugging on them, and there doesn't seem to be any play..and they're all lubed well. I hate to think it's in the differential, but maybe that's where I need to look? Any pointers while the vehicle's on the block?

Thanks!
Old 12-21-2006, 07:01 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by thook
Since I've got the '86 (4runner) laid up for a clutch job, I figure I'd do some investigating into a noise I've been hearing in the driveline for a few months. It's a noise like someone hitting the driveshaft (for example) with a hammer when I first start out and the driveline engages. It seems to be coming from the rear. I checked all the u-joints, manually tugging on them, and there doesn't seem to be any play..and they're all lubed well. I hate to think it's in the differential, but maybe that's where I need to look? Any pointers while the vehicle's on the block?

Thanks!
Ah, the old "ping" like a submarine. A failing joint wont be found by tugging ont he joints. Whern they fail, they get too tight at first, then grind themselves up and become loose. You will need to remove tghe driveshaft and move the yokes on both the joint axis. It should be smooth, no lumps. The very back on is the most likely culprit. I bet the rear one will be real tight. ALso, slip yoke splines can wear and sometimes "ping" on a direction change. Some grease can help here too.