Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Installing a new clutch

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2008, 07:49 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Installing a new clutch

Don't have any big questions but I'm in the middle of changing out my clutch and needed a place to vent and rehash the process. Just finished for the day and I am beat. My wonderful girlfriend just scrubbed me down in the tub and I feel a bit better.
Let me just say, I have never done a clutch before or even dropped a transmission. I like to work on my own cars for the experience and to fulfill my ongoing need for self sufficiency. When my clutch went out, I was actually a bit excited by the prospect of installing a new one. Ordered a marlin clutch kit and fly wheel, and also went ahead and got my self an electric impact wrench as a late xmas present. That being said, I know this process will take me about 3-4 times as long as it will the 2nd or 3rd time I do this. I'm cool with that. I feel pretty good that I'll finish this project tomorrow, but if not I have a transmission jack until Tuesday.

My sources of information for this job...
Haynes Manual-pretty crappy
FSM-pretty good
4x4 wire write up-A little vague but solid method
Yotatech-The most usefull
Toyota Truck Forum on Toyota Nation-Helpful

Heres what I have done so far...
-Disconnected the shifter and transfer shifter. It took me a whole to get the shifter out. Figured out there is a sweet spot to push down on to get it all the way so you can twist it, and then out it pops.
-Dropped the rear drive shaft.
-Took out the front drive shaft
-Removed all the wired connections.
-Removed the starter. This was surprisingly easy. Just take of the wheel and go through the little access panel.
-Removed the clutch slave(release) cylinder.
-Removed the transmission cross member. Go impact wrench!!!!