Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

IFS Diff Disassembly

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2007, 05:13 AM
Contributing Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
IFS Diff Disassembly

I am in the process of swapping the front IFS gears on my 1994 Pickup, but I have one problem. I can't get the axle shafts out of the housing. I have the compete diff on the bench, cover off, tubes unbolted, and I don't see any clips to hold the shafts in. What am I missing? Or do I just need to give it a good jolt to break it loose? The truck had the ADD system and I am thinking of swapping to the non ADD with manual hubs since I have the parts available. This is my first time with a Toyota IFS diff, but I have worked on many rease/solid axle diffs, and Jeeps with no problems. Any Ideas?

BTW, this truck is for sale. 1994 Toyota Xtracab, V6, SR5, PW, PL, PS, PB, Sunroof, Bucket seats, approx. 60K on the engine, 196K on the truck, 4" Superlift, 33x12.50 on 15"x10" chrome, driven daily, but I need a bigger truck for 2 carseats.
Old 12-12-2007, 06:54 AM

Received 24 Likes on 17 Posts
Hey Scott,

Here a few pics from when I changed the seal on the short side of my IFS diff.
Shaft removed

Seal removed

New seal, greased shaft

Hopefully you can see that the end of the shaft has a slot cut in it with a c-clip. In order to get the half-shafts out you just need to hit the flanges with a hammer and they will pop out. They will also pop back in.

The reason I changed the seal was that one of my hubs was left locked and I did alot of 70mph+ driving. Afterward I noticed that diff fluid was being flung out of the seal (big mess!). I attempted to change both of them but the long shaft would not come out no matter how hard i hammered it. But that seal was fine, so I left it alone.

Hope that helps! I have a few more pics of the IFS diff if you need some, PM me.
Old 12-12-2007, 06:56 AM

Received 24 Likes on 17 Posts