Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

HELP. First 4runner is dead

Old 04-13-2008, 04:53 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question HELP. First 4runner is dead

Alright. I bought an almost mint condition 86 4runner for 800 bucks. Its been to 3 different mechanics, stumped them all. It has the 22re 5spd. Itll fire right up, but die within seconds. It has a brand new coil, the dist. cap isnt worn, its getting fuel (i replaced the fuel pump and it engages when you turn the key and stays engaged when it running). Put a brand new afm on. Its getting spark, i did the plug test. No fuses are blown. And its starting to stump me. Any ideas?? Thanks

Last edited by LFTDrunner; 04-13-2008 at 04:56 PM.
Old 04-13-2008, 05:03 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
vafm?
Old 04-13-2008, 05:10 PM

haha sorry, im new to toyotas, and have no service manual. where is that located? If thats the airflow meter on the intake box, i replaced it. Thanks for your help

Last edited by LFTDrunner; 04-13-2008 at 05:11 PM.
Old 04-13-2008, 06:09 PM

Ive ran every vacuum line and gaskets, cant find a vacuum leak either. Im STUMPED.
Old 04-14-2008, 05:55 AM

Bumpp. Any ideas?
Old 04-14-2008, 07:26 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
okay I will throw some things out there. I had a 2nd gen but am no mechanic....

It is an 86 and you say the 22re so I take that to mean fuel injection. You say it is getting spark, so that leaves air or gas to finish the equation.

Where are you getting spark? at each and every spark plug connection to the wire?

The symptoms you describe are exactly what occurred to me when I failed to reconnect the airbox (and I believe that includes the AFM) to the wiring harness-sometimes after change out of the air filter. I am presuming that is connected and is not damaged on the inside pins..... I have seen them mashed in place and cross connected slightly-the connector in good shape and clean and dry and all of that?