86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

HELP FAST... Oil to cylinder head!!!

Search this Thread

Old 10-13-2009, 08:39 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
HELP FAST... Oil to cylinder head!!!

Im almost to the point of starting my newly rebuilt engine...my pops said to crank it over without plugs of course, with the valve cover off... to make sure that oil is circulating to the top of the cam and rocker arms...i am not seeing ANY oil being moved...but everything moves fine... does the valve cover need to be on for vaccuum to make the oil move or....is something wrong?
Old 10-13-2009, 09:43 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Vaccum doesn't play a part in moving oil through an engine, thats done by the crank driven oil pump. I've never heard of cranking the engine to check oil flow nor have I done it and i've rebuilt 3 engines now. Don't get me wrong, not trying to claim i'm an expert but thats been my experience. I'm assuming you used some type of assembly lube? The purpose of that lube is to make things slick until your oil starts pumping for the first time, among some other things...
Old 10-13-2009, 09:50 PM

just crank it over a lot with your hand so you know oil will be ready to be circulated throughout your engine once you start it.

You can start an engine with no oil...it just won't last long. lol.
Old 10-13-2009, 09:51 PM
Contributing Member

Yeah, you should have pre-lubed the moving parts during installation. Button up the engine and fire it up. Then make sure you have oil pressure. If not, shut it down. When you fire it the first time, just let it idle.
Old 10-13-2009, 09:53 PM