Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Help!! Dropping new motor, oil pan sitting on diff!!

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-2016, 10:40 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help!! Dropping new motor, oil pan sitting on diff!!

I purchased a 1991 Toyota pickup 4x4 5 speed 22re. There was no motor in the truck. I received all parts to build the motor, but didn't have time to. I purchased a 1994 Toyota pickup 22re 2wd automatic. I removed the motor, and scrapped the rest of the truck. Here's my problem, I have tightened the bottom 2 bolts from bell housing to rear of engine. I have hand tightened the top 2. I cannot tighten them. I cannot go from trans side because trans is sitting too high. Come to find out, my oil pan is sitting on the front diff and will not allow the engine to drop down into place. Hmm no wonder I couldn't get the motor mounts to line up. This is my first time pulling and installing an engine and was hoping it would go a lot smoother than this. If anyone can give me some advice or suggestions that would be greatly appreciated!! Thanks in advance
Old 08-23-2016, 10:50 AM

Received 99 Likes on 86 Posts
2wd and 4wd use really different oil pans.

You need to take the engine back out and find a 4x4 oil pan

Need to also have the oil pick up tube as well as they are different

You should most likely have the correct oil pan in the engine parts from when you bought the truck

Compare then and see how different they are .

Last edited by wyoming9; 08-23-2016 at 10:51 AM.
Old 08-23-2016, 11:07 AM

The one on left is just like the one on the motor already