Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Help with 7-pin trailer connector & brake controller

Old 07-19-2006, 05:49 PM
Contributing Member

Received 34 Likes on 14 Posts
Help with 7-pin trailer connector & brake controller

I just bought this trailer:

It's a dual-axle 7,000 lb GVW with 7-pin electrical connector, which I have no experience with. I've hooked up a wiring harness for my truck, but the wire colors from my original 4-pin aren't used for the same thing as the same color wire on the 7-pin. I'm confused. Does anyone have experience with these? Here's a pic of the connector:

Also, I'm thinking of buying a Tekonsha Voyager brake controller; does anyone know anything about them?
Old 07-19-2006, 07:31 PM
Contributing Member

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
so the trailer is already wired if so just buy a 4flat to a 7 round adapter
Old 07-19-2006, 11:23 PM

Received 19 Likes on 15 Posts
If you want to get the trailer brakes to work then you are going to have to wire in the correct plug. I believe the plug on your trailer is called an RV 7-pole or something like that. You can buy some kind of plug at Wal-Mart or any auto parts store to wire up to your truck. The package it comes in will say where all of the wires go. If you are going to tow that with your Toyota then you are going to want the trailer brakes for safety. Brakes are also required by law (at least in California anyway) for any trailers over a certain weight, I think it is 1500 or 2000 lbs.

Last edited by the_supernerd; 07-19-2006 at 11:26 PM.
Old 07-19-2006, 11:30 PM
Contributing Member

I have the correct plug, wired according to the directions. I was just wondering why the brown wire on the flat plug has a different use than the brown wire on the 7-pole. This is how the 7 pole plug is supposed to be wired:

White: common ground
Blue: electric brake
Green: tail & license
Black: battery charg
Red: left stop & turn
Brown: right stop & turn