Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Head gasket issues ?

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2014, 05:55 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Head gasket issues ?

Okay, I know this has gone over before, and i have searched the forums, but would still like some thoughts. 94 4runner, 3.0 5 speed 191xxx. Few things:

1. bubbles in the coolant. No smoke of any kind. After sitting for a while, when an attempt to start is made, I get a single "click" and after a few attempts it starts but runs weird for about 5-10 seconds then clears up and runs great. Could it be anything but a leaky head gasket? (have not compression tested)

2. How long should it take to change the head gaskets out? (I have pulled the engine and done the gaskets on a 2.2 subaru successfully so I have some experience)

3. I normally go OEM, but I hear people saying that Victor-Reinz are better in this case. Is that true?

4. Do I need any special tools?

5. Is it fine to reuse the head bolts?

I know if I look long enough I could probably find the answers, but I would appreciate some help. Thank you guys very much.
Old 05-02-2014, 06:06 PM

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Sorry for ya man.

Rev it up with the rad cap off....does it shoot out filler neck?

oem gaskets. new head bolts.

Good thing...many been down this road...tons of threads.

search tip....use google...but add yotatech to search line...

"3.0 headgasket job yotatech" for example.
Old 05-02-2014, 07:39 PM

Here's your options in order of money.
$ put in new gaskets and bolts.
$$ gaskets , bolts and have heads rebuilt . Because it's pita , rebuild as much as you can .
$$$ Have a shop do it .
$$$ Put a rebuilt motor in. Because your going to have half the motor torn apart that has 200k on it , and for a few more $$ than getting the heads rebuilt you could buy a rebuilt motor.
Old 05-02-2014, 07:43 PM

So, where does one find a rebuilt motor? Is there a common source?
Old 05-02-2014, 08:04 PM