Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

frustrated with misfire

Old 10-21-2009, 06:20 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry frustrated with misfire

Hi all, newbie here with a headache of a problem. I've been reading the forum regularly for over a year but finally going to post my issue. Lots of simialr issues but none I have read are exact. Here goes.. Randomly #3 cylinder dies. Has plenty of spark from dist., has spark at plug. Acts as though injector is not working. I replaced the injector and it ran great for 4-5 days then same thing #3 is dead. I replaced fuel filters 3 different times all of which has some fine contamination when I drained the filters. Each time the truck runs great for maybe a week then #3 goes dead. I felt like it was maybe a pressure isse based on others posts. I replaced the pressure regulator, worked great for about a week then same thing #3 is dead. I replace filter again and VIOLA' works great for 1-2 weeks then same thing again. I replaced the fuel pump and strainer and checked the tank while it was apart and it was really pretty clean. Ran unbelievable for 1 week then same old #3 not working. I've checked for vaccum leaks with carb cleaners , brake cleaners, starting fluids etc. etc. Nothing of any significance. Everytime I have replaced something it seems fixed for a week or even up to 3 weeks one time then the same old problem again. I have no CEL at all. No coolant loss, no oil loss to mention between oil changes. When its working it drives great, even get about 19+ miles per galllon on the daily commute with 31's, then the #3 death factor and then of course my MPG drops big time and the truck shakes rattles and barely rolls. Sorry for such a longwinded first post. I either can fix it asap or be forced to sell it and find something else. Did I mention I love this truck. 89 4runner 3.0 v6 5 speed, new paint, tires 189k miles beatiful old truck just getting the best of me now. Hate to