Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

engine grease during rebuild

Old 10-04-2006, 02:10 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
engine grease during rebuild

i was told that because it will take me about a month to get from the bottom end of our 22rtec to the top end, that i have to grease up all my bearings, pistons,crank etc etc etc. Can anyone confirm this or can i just use 10w50 to put all the parts in. Im a novice at engine building,heck this is my first time thank you to all that answer this question.
Old 10-04-2006, 02:14 PM
Contributing Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by tom renzoni
i was told that because it will take me about a month to get from the bottom end of our 22rtec to the top end, that i have to grease up all my bearings, pistons,crank etc etc etc. Can anyone confirm this or can i just use 10w50 to put all the parts in. Im a novice at engine building,heck this is my first time thank you to all that answer this question.
It's called "assembly grease" or "assembly lube" I think, they use it on Trucks! and Hot Rod TV whenever they're putting a new engine together. Helps make sure everything has lube when you start 'er up the first time.
Old 10-04-2006, 02:14 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
back in the old days, we used a 50/50 mix of STP and engine oil.
Old 10-04-2006, 02:27 PM

so its ok to use? For all the money im putting in this thing it couldnt hurt i guess.
Old 10-04-2006, 02:47 PM
Contributing Member

so its ok to use? For all the money im putting in this thing it couldnt hurt i guess.
Actually I'd think of it more as a requirement... if stuff doesn't have lube when it startes moving, damage will occur.
Old 10-04-2006, 02:55 PM

thanks
Old 10-04-2006, 04:33 PM

Is what ok to use?

You said grease. And if you're talking about like axle grease or wheel bearing grease then no it isn't ok to use.