86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Crunching when turing but only when stopped and rumble strip sound 55mph plus

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2017, 01:50 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Crunching when turing but only when stopped and rumble strip sound 55mph plus

So here's the deal guys, Im in college Ive always been a jeep guy so Im new to the ifs and a few other things. I bought a 95 4runner a few weeks back after i flipped my xj and totaled it. Now to the issues, when im stopped such as in park or in drive (so long as Im not moving) theres a crunching sound when I turn and almost feels like steering is slipping however if the vehicle is in motion i do not hear the griding sound and the steering feels tight. My 4runner is due for the recall of the steering relay rod which I am getting done thursday not sure if it could have to do with that or not. The next issue Im experiencing is when ever Im going over 55 mph it feels like im driving over the rumble strips on the highway. Anything below 55 and its smooth as can be. I can barely feel it when im going 55 but the higher the speed the more progressive it gets. It does go away slightly if im giving it extra gas between 60 and 63 mph but anything over that it doesnt matter if im giving it gas or let off the gas it vibrates in the steering wheel heavily and shakes the vehicle and sounds like im driving over the rumble strips. This has been an ongoing issue since i first bought the vehicle the previous owner said that it was wheel bearings on the rear so I had both rear axle seals and wheel bearings done as both of the rear axle seals were leaking and the bearings were shot. Any help would be greatly appreciated! It is the v6 and is 4wd as well if that helps you guys any.
Old 05-07-2017, 02:08 PM

Received 16 Likes on 16 Posts
The rumble strip things kinda sounds like a wheel/tire out of balance.
Old 05-07-2017, 02:36 PM