Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Coolant/Oil leak troubleshooting. New 88 Toyota Pickup owner.

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2013, 07:18 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Coolant/Oil leak troubleshooting. New 88 Toyota Pickup owner.

Hey everyone,

This is my first post here! I recently acquired a 1988 Toyota Pickup and am just starting to get to know it. The first thing I'm trying to do is track down/understand a coolant & oil leak on the 22re. I should probably say I am new to working on engines, not just the 22re. I have the Haynes manual, but not the factory service manual (yet).

About the leaks. First, I cleaned up the engine compartment some so I could better track down the leak. In the process I noticed coolant pooling around the oil pan gasket (front passenger side corner). I tried to trace that to its source, which led me to the spot in the photo below. From what I can tell, it's coming from the timing chain cover. If I clean this area (marked with the red arrow) it will start to get wet in that spot within a few minutes. Note: in the photo below the A/C and its mounting bracket are removed.

Second, I took it for a test drive today to see how the leaks behaved. After about 10 minutes of driving I got out and checked - the surfaces I had previously cleaned were already very wet with what looked like mostly oil (but is likely mixed with coolant). So I drove home to investigate but couldn't really identify the source of the oil leak. My only guess is it's leaking at the oil pan gasket but I'm not confident that's right. I'm uncertain of this because it seems like oil was getting places a little higher up the block (but not near the head from what I could tell) which doesn't make sense to me, unless it was being blown up by the fan or wind. Here's are some photos after that 10 minutes of driving...