86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Code 13

Search this Thread

Old 08-24-2018, 08:32 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Code 13

Hello all, long time lurker here. I picked up a parts truck for cheap that is in better condition than my current driver. I am getting a "code 13" which is no "NE" signal to the ECU. The Haynes says is likely an ECU, Distributor, or Distributor wiring problem. The idle is rough, but if I can feather the throttle just right then I can get it to rev up just fine, as soon as I let it off it tries to die though. If I rev it up and try to put it in first, as soon as I let the clutch out she dies, no power. I've looked but still not sure what the "Ne" signal means or what's going on in leighman's terms and I do NOT want to start throwing parts at it. I'm an ok mechanic, but electronics are my bane. If you all have any ideas, please let me know. Thanks.

Matt Z
Old 08-24-2018, 10:26 AM

Received 822 Likes on 649 Posts
Welcome to YotaTech.

Let's see. You're probably asking about a Toyota. But which one? A Camry? Well, you say truck, could it be a T100? Some people call 4Runners trucks. And what year? What engine? What transmission? (Yes, all these things are important. If you plan to stick around, and we hope you will, put that information into your "signature" so you don't need to repeat it.)

Here's the diagnostics page for a '93 (which will do you well, unless your "truck" is before 1989) http://web.archive.org/web/201211190...85diagnosi.pdf

The NE signal comes from the pickup in the distributor. It's the old-time equivalent of cam position sensor. http://web.archive.org/web/201212070.../9systemci.pdf The ECU uses that signal to figure out the IGT signal which goes to the igniter, which triggers the coil. If the NE signal goes missing, how is the ECU to get the spark right?