Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

brake issues and egr ?

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2013, 01:56 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
brake issues and egr ?

I am new to the Toyota scene always ran domestic vehicles. I recently purchased a 9 4 pickup ext cab with 4x4 and when I bought it the brake line had a pin hole in it. I replaced it and bled system 4 different times. It built pressure when off but once cranked it would loose pressure there would be a lot of travel with pedal then it would get almost to the floor it would have brake and stop on a dime. There is brake just at the floor. Ive read other post and possibly could be master cylinder but just wanting to check to see what others think. I wondered if shoes being worn could cause this or adjustment ? Any help would be great. Also I have check engine light on and when in did diagnosis I came up with get system. Does that mean the egr valve is bad or what other parts could be throwing this code ? Thanks again for looking over my post and helping if you can.
Old 11-19-2013, 01:57 AM

Also there is no leaks fluid level stays full in reservoir. Just thought I needed to add that.
Old 11-19-2013, 07:14 AM
osv

Received 19 Likes on 18 Posts
what is "came up with get system"?

I would check the brake pedal free play first, then go from there.
Old 11-19-2013, 07:56 AM

Egr system.
Old 11-20-2013, 07:02 AM

I just went through this!

Just put in brand new cv axles, rotors, inner and outer bearings and seals and newly rebuilt calipers on both sides of my 94 extra cab with 3.0 v6 and dlx model. When we went to bleed the brakes we ran into the same problem. some pressure when engine was off (not real good pressure) and than we would start the motor and the brake pedal would go to the floor. the vaccume assist would give more pressure and we would lose all pressure.