Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

big fuel leak problems...

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2009, 10:08 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation big fuel leak problems...

i have searched and searched but cannot find any answers anywhere...

There is a leak in my 1992 4runner v6 that is on and off... i cannot find it but it makes EVERYTHING smell like gas... i replaced one and had toyota look at my other injectors last year... cause i had this problem last year, but i could see gas pooling up. i cant see anything here. i think it might be the cold start injector but that would make the engine idle really rough if it just kept pumping fuel into it... exhaust smells and looks fine. engine just smells like gas and cant find the leak.

ANY IDEAS WOULD be great... toyota OFFERED... to replace the 5 old injectors for $1600!!!! i am a student! no $$$.... i have had nothing but problems with this engine, i want to do a swap but i dont have the time or the bulk of money or the space or anything to do it.

any help please...
-andy
Old 05-27-2009, 11:07 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Injector o-rings maybe?
Old 05-27-2009, 11:17 PM

where is the fuel gattering at?

Check the fuel rails, the fuel pulsation dampener(mine leaked and caused a fire), charcoal canister,etc.. the location of where it is pooling up might help.
Old 05-27-2009, 11:58 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
+1 on the pulsation dampener.
Old 05-28-2009, 06:48 AM

+2 on the pulsation dampener. That is where mine leaked. one guy on here had a engine compartment fire because of it. definitely look for it.
Old 05-28-2009, 06:54 AM
Contributing Member

Received 34 Likes on 14 Posts
I agree with the above. Pulsation damper is my first suspicion, then I'd guess an injector o-ring.
Old 05-28-2009, 08:54 AM